Richmond City Council Appoints New Members to RRHA’s Board of Commissioners

Joining RRHA’s Board of Commissioners are Eddie L. Jackson, Jr. and Harold Parker, Jr.

Richmond Redevelopment and Housing Authority (RRHA) announces the appointment of two new board members by Richmond City Council. Additionally, Barrett Hardiman has been elected as the Board’s Chairman replacing Dr. Basil I. Gooden whose term expired June 28, 2022. Commissioner William R. “Bill” Johnson, Jr. has been selected as Vice Chairman.

“I am excited about the appointment of our newest board members.  With their knowledge and expertise in real estate and business, Commissioners Jackson and Parker bring great perspective to RRHA. We are ready to work with them to accomplish significant things.”

Chairman Barrett Hardiman.

Eddie L. Jackson, Jr. is the founder and president of Blue Whale Company, Inc. This family of companies represents commercial real estate brokerage, fee architectural design and development and asset management.  Jackson’s comprehensive real estate knowledge includes all asset types in the commercial space ranging from retail, mixed-use, office, industrial, special use and multi-family.

Harold Parker, Jr. is a long-time Richmond resident and the president and Chief Executive Officer of Old Dominion Electrical Supply Company in Richmond. The Virginia Commonwealth University graduate has served on several boards to include the Ronald McDonald House, Freedom House, Warner Press, Church of God Executive Board, Venture Richmond, and many others.

RRHA’s Board of Commissioners acts in the best interest of the Public Housing Authority. Their role and responsibilities include establishing priorities and policies, advocacy, and review and approval of contracts.

There are nine places on RRHA’s Board of Commissioners. City Council is expected to confirm the remaining two positions in the near future. Current RRHA Board members and their terms:

M. Barrett Hardiman, Chairman        July 27, 2020 – January 9, 2024
W. R. “Bill” Johnson, Jr., Vice ChairmanJuly 27, 2020 – March 26, 2024
Veronica G.  BlountJuly 27, 2020 – January 9, 2024
Eddie Jackson, Jr.June 13, 2022 – April 26, 2026
Harold Parker, Jr.       June 13, 2022 – January 12, 2025
Charlene PitchfordSept. 14,2020 – Nov. 24, 2023
Patrice SheltonSept. 14, 2020 – Oct. 25, 2022