2nd Annual “Open House in the Village” Event Celebrates RRHA Scholarship Winners

Nine students from communities managed by Richmond Redevelopment and Housing Authority (RRHA) have received scholarships from Tomorrow’s Promise, RRHA, and the Virginia Association of Housing and Community Development Officials (VAHCDO) to attend college.

scholarship winners congrats

Many of these high school honor students are the first in their families to attend college. Graduating and being accepted to college is a critical step in changing their environment and outlook. 

“RRHA’s 2021 collegebound scholarship winners prove that environment does not define ability. We are proud to be a part of the ‘village’ that nurtures and celebrates the spirit, creativity and hard work of our students who have overcome great obstacles to achieve and thrive in a challenging environment,” said RRHA Interim CEO Stacey Daniels-Fayson.

With scholarships helping with tuition, the 2nd Annual Open House in the Village event provides an opportunity for the students’ “village” to honor, encourage and support them with items not covered by their scholarships. Many times, the parents and guardians of these students may not have resources to offer.  The “village,” which includes RRHA, event co-sponsor Richmond City Council President Cynthia Newbille, the Richmond Public School Educational School Foundation and other partners, sponsors and friends have joined forces to kickstart their college careers by providing necessary essentials such as Chromebooks, gift cards, furnishings and essentials for dorm rooms, equipment, and much more. These items and gift cards will be distributed at a private event for the students, their families and contributing sponsors on Tuesday, July 27, 2021 at the Virginia Union University Living and Learning Center, 1500 N Lombardy Street, Richmond, VA.

The following are the RRHA scholarship students and the colleges they will be attending:

  • Ailyah Blackshear – Virginia Commonwealth University
  • Dai’Quana Washington – Radford University
  • Devante Jackson – Reynolds Community College
  • Mekhi Lucas – Virginia Union University
  • Mikel Hudson – Virginia Commonwealth University
  • Nyla Cooper – Virginia Commonwealth University
  • Shanaya Peck – Undecided
  • Shytina Huey – Reynolds Community College
  • Varchon Laws – Old Dominion University

Tomorrow’s Promise Scholarship is administered by Richmond Opportunities Inc. and awards students for their strong work ethic, service to the community and academic achievements throughout their high school career. The Virginia Association of Housing and Community Development Officials Scholarship is specifically for students living in public housing communities in the Commonwealth of Virginia and awards students based on character, achievements, and their potential for education and career advancement.