RRHA Elects New Board Chair, Vice Chair and Appoints Resident Commissioner

At the Tuesday, October 18, 2023 Board of Commissioners meeting, Richmond Redevelopment and Housing Authority’s (RRHA) Commissioners elected former Vice Chairman, William R. Johnson, Jr. as the new Chairman and Commissioner Charlene Pitchford as Vice Chairman.

William R. Johnson, Jr. brings a wealth of local government experience having served as a former zoning administrator and Richmond City council member.  He is a Richmond native who attended  Armstrong Kennedy High School. Mr. Johnson holds a degree in Urban Studies from Virginia Commonwealth University. He currently resides in Richmond’s 6th council voting district.

“I have devoted my career to public service and have worked diligently to provide opportunities and improve the housing, education, health, and economic well-being in under-served communities. I look forward to working with our Board of Commissioners, the team at RRHA, the city of Richmond, and our partners across this region to expand affordable housing and provide the services our RRHA families expect and deserve,” said Chairman Johnson

Charlene Pitchford is a 20-year resident of public housing and has extensive experience as a community advocate and volunteer. She currently serves as the Treasurer of the Gilpin Court Tenant Council and is active in several local organizations, including the Historic Jackson Ward Association, George Washington Carver Elementary School Parent Teacher Association, and Healthy Start RVA. She studied at Colorado Technical University.    

Of her election, Commissioner Pitchford  said, “I’m humbled that my fellow commissioners asked me to serve in this role, and I’m excited to help Chairman Johnson continue to strengthen and serve the RRHA community.”


In addition, the latest addition to RRHA’s Board of Commissioners is the appointment of longtime Fairfield resident,  Commissioner Dyanne Broidy on June 12, 2023.  Commissioner Broidy serves as the Board’s second resident Commissioner. She is actively involved in serving her community as president of Fairfield’s Tenant Council and working in Richmond Public Schools. Commissioner Broidy’s goal is to help close the communication gap between RRHA and its residents and help build a stronger relationship between RRHA, the Tenant Councils and RRHA families.

“Congratulations to Commissioner Bill Johnson and Vice Chirman Charlene Pitchford on their new leadership positions, and a warm welcome to Commissioner Dyanne Broidy. I look forward to working closely with the new Chairman and Vice Chairman of our board, both of whom I know very well. I am also excited about the ideas and energy that Commissioner Broidy brings to the Board,” said RRHA CEO Steven Nesmith.

RRHA’s Board consists of nine Commissioners who are appointed to serve four-year terms by Richmond’s City Council. rrha.com/about/board.

For information about RRHA programs and objectives, visit rrha.com. For general RRHA inquiries, please contact our Call Center toll free at 833-750-RRHA (-7742) or 804-780-4200.